McGladrey Classic 2014 Betting Tips

[Get Exclusive Tips on our Patreon, Ad-Free

The McGladrey Classic is a relatively new course to the PGA Tour. It only joined the PGA Tour in 2010. It’s a good course that takes place at the Sea Island Golf Club, Sea Island, Georgia.

It’s got a 70 par, and the previous winners usually end up about 14-16 under. Health Slocum was the inaugural winner back in 2010 at -14. Ben Crane won the next yer, then Tommy Gainey won in 2012 with the highest score to date on the course at -16. Chris Kirk won last year with a -14.

We like this course because there’s always a lot of tight play at the end. It usually comes down to one stroke and it’s no surprise that we’ve already had a playoff at this course. It would not surprise us to see another one. The previous playoff was in 2011 where Ben Crane had a ridiculous last day to tie it up with Webb Simpson – who also had a great -4. Crane went -7 to take it to the playoff and we hope for another event like that.

McGladrey Classic 2014 Betting Odds:

  1. Matt Kuchar: 14/1
  2. Webb Simpson: 16/1
  3. Chris Kirk: 16/1
  4. Bill Haas: 18/1
  5. Zach Johnson: 22/1
  6. Martin Laird: 30/1
  7. Nick Watney: 30/1
  8. Russell Knox: 35/1
  9. Harris English: 35/1
  10. Russell Henley: 35/1

McGladrey Classic Winner #1: Webb Simpson

Coming off a tied for 4th position in the Shriners, Simpson is at a nice price of 16/1.

He had a top 10 finish here last year, and is playing some really, really good golf at the moment. He is on form, and an on form Webb Simpson is good for a bet.

Bet: Webb Simpson E/W to win. Top 5 places pay at .


Unfortunately Webb Simpson did not continue his run of form here.

To be fair – tied for 41st was still respectable. He ended at -5. Unfortunately he just played very, very average.

Despite the loss – at least early on we knew he wasn’t going to do it, which meant we could sit back and enjoy some great golf. It of course went to a playoff with Robert Streb, Will MacKenzie and Brendon De Jonge with Streb walking out the winner.